Crockpot Chicken Cacciatore

I love chicken cacciatore, and I love it even more now that I can make it in the crock pot. The chicken pieces just fall apart and creates this delicious, hearty stew-like meal! I threw this on early in the morning, went about my day, and by the time I went to serve dinner, my house smelled wonderful. There’s not much else to say other than you should definitely make this if you’re looking for a simple meal that’s easy to throw together. Recipe after the jump!



Your ingredients.


Combine your salt, pepper, and flour.


Dredge your chicken in the flour mixture and shake off any excess.


Cook your chicken until golden brown on both sides.


While your chicken cooks, slice your onion.


And chop your parsley.


If you get a chance, pick up some of these Reynold’s slow-cooker liners because they’re AMAZING! You just throw one inside of your crock pot and there’s virtually no clean up later on. I hate scrubbing anything, so I’m thankful that my mother introduced me to these babies.


Throw together your onions, mushrooms, green pepper, garlic, carrot, tomatoes, chili flakes, salt, pepper, basil and parsley.


Add your chicken to the pot.


Along with your chicken broth and red wine. Put your lid on and cook on high for 4 to 6 hours.

Crockpot Chicken Cacciatore
from Food Network

1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon kosher salt plus 1/2 teaspoon
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, plus 1/4 teaspoon
1 (5 count) package chicken thighs, about 2 to 3 pounds
3 tablespoons pure olive oil
1/2 pound button mushrooms, quartered
1 green pepper, sliced (I didn’t have this on hand, so I didn’t use it)
1 yellow onion, sliced
1 clove garlic, minced
1 carrot, peeled and chopped
1 (15-ounce) can diced tomatoes
1/2 teaspoon red chili flakes
2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil leaves (I used dried)
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley leaves
1 cup chicken broth
1 cup red wine

1. Combine flour, 1 teaspoon of salt and 1/2 teaspoon of pepper in a flat dish or pie plate. Wash your chicken pieced, then dredge them lightly in flour mixture, patting off excess.
2. In a large skillet over medium-high heat add your olive oil, and when the oil is hot add the chicken, browning on both sides, about 5 minutes, until golden.
3. In the bottom of a 5-quart slow cooker add your mushrooms, green pepper, onion, garlic, carrot, tomatoes, chili flakes, remaining salt and pepper, basil and parsley. Then add the chicken, chicken broth and wine. Cover and cook on HIGH setting for 4 to 6 hours.

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Crockpot Chicken Cacciatore

  1. Is it possible to cook this on low for 8 hours? I’d love to make it, but I work full time so I’d have to start it in the morning, and I usually don’t get home until 8 hours later. Looks delicious!

  2. thecrepesofwrath

    Sarah: You can definitely cook it on low for 8 hours. :)

  3. That looks fantastic! I’ve made or rather my Honey has made this though using a different recipe (Allrecipe). It was good. I like the idea of browning the chicken for added flavor.

    That is pretty sweet….. throw it together in the am & it’s done in the pm!

    I’m gonna give your recipe a try and I have got to find those liners, no luck so far!
    ~ingrid

  4. LOOKS GREAT!! WOULD GO GREAT WITH AN APPLETINI IN TIMES OF THIS INTENSE BLOGWAR…

    http://bloggingourway2bombay.com/2008/10/29/bow2b-welcomes-sokalwavegrrrl/

    P.S. you are hot, at least based on that cartoon.

  5. Thanks for this! If I just brown the chicken in a little canola oil and salt and pepper without the flour I can totally eat this!! That makes me pretty darn happy. This will be our Monday dinner since I work from 1-5 and we have to leave the house by 6 for Bible study! Thanks so much!! I’m really excited!

  6. This looks so good. I just made a Moroccan chicken stew in my crock pot using a similar method. I MUST get some of those liners.

  7. gorilita

    Can I make this recipe in my stove? How long should I cook it for? Thanks!

  8. thecrepesofwrath

    Gorilita – I’m sure you can make it on your stove. I would use the same preparation and then maybe bring it to a boil and then let it simmer for a few hours.

  9. Sydney,
    If you’re looking for another really good slow-cooker recipe, I recommend one for Beef Stroganoff from Everyday Food. I don’t have a slow cooker, so I cook this recipe in my Dutch oven. It is so tasty! I recommend using less mustard than the recipe calls for–otherwise the sauce tastes too mustardy. Who doesn’t love stewed beef over buttery egg noodles?!

  10. So I only had to modify this a little to be free-o-carb and low fat! I also decided to make it into an Italian chicken soup instead of a thick true cacciatore. First, I used chicken breasts instead of chicken thighs (lower fat) and when I browned the breasts, I didn’t put any flour on them. Hindsight is 20/20, and I don’t think I had to brown them at all. Everything else was the same until the end. Instead of chicken broth and wine, I added 1 cup of chicken broth and then about 2 cups of water. I left it in the crockpot on high for about 6 hours and it was a wonderful soup. My husband ate it with some creamy polenta in the bottom of his bowl and it was delicious.

    On another note, I’m thinking of starting a low-fat/low-carb cooking blog, but I wanted to know how you take your great pictures! Plus, I need help thinking of a name. Any ideas?

  11. Amie

    yum! this is in my crock pot right now. will let you know how it turns out! i had to make a few substitutions since i didn’t have stuff (breasts instead of thighs, white wine instead of red. beef brother instead of chicken because my husband got the wrong stuff, ahh! i’m a little nervous about that substitution, haha). i need to stock up my kitchen one of these days…

  12. Amie

    yay! it worked out really well. husband LOVED it. thanks for another great recipe! any more crock pot ones would be great, we loooove our crock pot!

  13. Pingback: Columbus Foodie » Blog Archive » October 2008 Roundup

  14. hi! I used this as a base recipe for an Italian Chicken Soup on my blog. Check it out!

    womandoesnotliveonbreadalone.blogspot.com

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  15. Justin

    Sydney,

    Outstanding recipe. Really great pictures made an easy time for a novice such as myself! Thanks for taking the time to post it!

Leave a Reply

