Falafel

I love falafel! If you haven’t tried it, you should because this recipe is really simple! The falafel were flavorful and hearty, and they made a great dinner when stuffed inside of pita bread and topped with hummus, lettuce, tomatoes, and onions. I would definitely make this again, and maybe put some kind of rice in the falafel itself. Recipe after the jump!



Round up the troops.


Rinse your garbanzo beans.


Chop your onion (save some for the topping)


Combine all of your falafel ingredients in your blender or food processor.


After refrigerating, roll the falafel into balls.


Heat your oil to 375 degrees F.


Fry about 6 balls at a time for 3-4 minutes, or until golden.


Spread hummus inside of your pita. We used red pepper hummus…


And regular garlic hummus.


Stuff your falafel into pitas with your choice of toppings and enjoy!

Falafel
from Food Network

1 can garbanzo beans, drained and patted dry
1 small onion, roughly chopped
2 cloves garlic
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
3 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley leaves, about a handful (I just used dried parsley)
Canola oil, for frying

Toppings/Etc.

4 pita breads
Chopped tomato
Chopped onion
Shredded Iceberg lettuce
Tahini sauce or hummus

1. Combine all of the falafel ingredients, expect oil, in the bowl of a a blender or a food processor fitted with a steel blade. Pulse the mixture until coarsely ground. Transfer to a bowl or container and refrigerate, covered, for several hours (I just did mine for 30 minutes and they seemed fine to me!).
2. Form the falafel mixture into balls about the size of walnuts and press to flatten.
3. Heat 4 inches of oil to 375 degrees F in a deep pot or deep fryer. Fry about 6 balls at once for about 3-4 minutes, or until golden brown. Drain on paper towels. Stuff each pita with 4 falafel balls, chopped tomatoes, lettuce, onions, and hummus.

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Falafel

  1. Janaki

    Hooray for falafel! Ive been looking for a good recipe Sydney, looks loverrrly!

  2. duncan

    omg i want this falafel RIGHT NOW it looks so good!

  3. Oh wow. I love reading your blog. Everything looks so good. I didn’t realize making falafel was so easy. I was just going to buy the stuff in the box. Thanks for the idea. Oh, and is that 3 Tribe hummus you used? I really like Sabra.

  4. I’m always on the lookout for easy falafel recipes. Because I’ve been wanting to make falafels at home for the longest time.

  5. Joanne

    I would never attempt this, great job. When are you going to make something for us?
    See you Friday,
    Love Mommy

  6. haha, i just found your blog and LOVE the title.

    the falafel looks great and it’s a lot easier than i thought it’d be. it’s definitely going on my list of things to try. thanks!

  7. I adore falafel but never thought I could make my own, I will totally try this. I am going on my honeymoon next week (!!) to Amsterdam and I hear they have amazing falafel.

  8. Falafel is one of my all time favorite foods. We’ve made it before around here and had similar feelings – it is so satisfying and delicious!
    Your pictures make the falafel look super yummy!

  9. Jasmin

    I just made this and it’s soo good! I added a little lemon juice.

    Too bag my pita ripped… :(

  10. Hi
    Just wanted to say i realy like this blog.
    If you`re interested, also check out this blog, with recepies for realy good lebanese dishes and real easy.

  11. This looks amazing… I love Falafel!

  12. Persian Kitchen

    Wow, looks not only delicious but very easy to make!

  13. Sarah

    Thanks for the great recipe! I pan fried these until they got a little color on each side, then cooked them the rest of the way in the oven to avoid deep frying. My only problem was that the falafel didn’t stay together well, perhaps I didn’t chill the dough long enough before making them, but they didn’t hold their shape and flattened out. Maybe next time I’ll add an egg white to bind it. They tasted amazing though!!! I love the little zip and kick the red pepper gives, thanks again!

  14. I just used your recipe to make falafel. I had been drooling over your photos for almost a year deciding when to make this. I had a little trouble with the balls not staying together but I fixed it! It might be because I doubled the recipe.

Leave a Reply

